# RC-4/2: Confirmation of the appointments of government-designated experts as members of the Chemical Review Committee

The Conference of the Parties,

Recalling its decision RC-1/6, in which it identified 31 Parties to designate formally experts to serve as members of the Chemical Review Committee to serve for periods of two or four years from 1 October 2005 and whose designated experts were confirmed by the Conference of the Parties through decision RC-2/1,

Recalling its decision RC-3/2, in which it identified 14 Parties to designate new experts to serve on the Chemical Review Committee for a period of four years commencing on 1 October 2007, requested those Parties to provide, through the Secretariat, the names and relevant qualifications of those experts by June 2007 and decided that such experts should serve as members of the Chemical Review Committee on an interim basis, pending formal confirmation of their appointment by the Conference of the Parties at its fourth session,

Acknowledging with thanks the contributions to the efficient functioning of the Chemical Review Committee of the outgoing experts, especially Ms. Bettina Hitzfeld (Switzerland), who served as chair of the Committee for the second and third meetings of the Committee, and Ms. Hyacinth Chin Sue (Jamaica), who served as chair for the Committee's fourth meeting,

1. *Decides* to appoint the following 15 experts formally designated by the Parties identified in decision RC-3/2 to serve as members of the Chemical Review Committee for a period of four years commencing on 1 October 2007:

#### **African States**

Benin Mr. Mansourou Moudachirou

Gabon Mr. Hubert Binga Nigeria Mr. Idris Adamu Goji South Africa Ms. Noluzuko Gwayi

#### **Asian and Pacific States**

China Mr. Shan Zhengjun

India Mr. Shri Jasbir Singh (served as a designated expert from

1 October 2007 to 1 May 2008)

Mr. G. K. Pandey (will serve as a designated expert for the remainder of the term

commenced by Mr. Singh)

Japan Mr. Masayuki Ikeda

Sri Lanka Mr. Gamini K. Manuweera

### **Central and Eastern European States**

Czech Republic Ms. Darina Liptakova

#### **Latin American and Caribbean States**

Chile Mr. Ignacio Figueroa Cornejo

Mexico Mr. Mario Yarto

# Western European and other States

Austria Ms. Anja Bartels
France Mr. Mario Nichelatti
Norway Ms. Marit E. Randall

2. *Decides* to appoint the following two experts formally designated by the Governments identified in decision RC-1/6 to serve for the remainder of the four-year period commencing on 1 October 2005:

#### **Latin American and Caribbean States**

Jamaica Mr. Michael Frank Ramsay

## Western European and other States

Canada Ms. Hang Tang

- 3. *Reaffirms* the provisions of decision RC-1/6 with regard to the duration and terms of service of the experts;
- 4. *Decides* to elect retroactively elect Ms. Hyacinth Chin Sue as the chair of the Chemical Review Committee for its fourth meeting in accordance with the wishes expressed by the Chemical Review Committee during its third meeting and to elect Ms. Karmen Krajnc (Slovenia) as the chair of the Committee for its fifth meeting, in accordance with the wishes expressed by the Chemical Review Committee during its fourth meeting.

2