# RC-2/1: Confirmation of the appointment of members of the Chemical Review Committee

The Conference of the Parties,

Recalling its decision RC-l/6, in which it resolved that the 31 Governments which it had identified should formally designate experts for the Chemical Review Committee and, through the secretariat, provide their names and relevant qualifications by 1 December 2004, and that such experts should serve as members of the Chemical Review Committee on an interim basis pending formal confirmation of their appointment by the Conference of the Parties at its second session,

1. Decides to confirm the appointment to the Chemical Review Committee of the 30 experts listed below, who were designated by 30 of the Governments of the Parties identified in decision RC-I/6:

#### Africa

Ghana Mr. John Pwamang

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Mr. Mohamed Ammar Khalifa Nigeria Ms. Oluronke Ajibike Soyombo

Rwanda Mr. Aloys Kamatari Senegal Mr. Ousmane Sow South Africa Mr. Sibbele Hietkamp United Republic of Tanzania Mr. Ernest Mashimba

#### Asia

Jordan Mr. Mohammed Khashashneh

Kyrgyzstan Mr. Isak Djumaev Malaysia Mr. Halimi Bin Mahmud

Oman Mr. Hamoud Darwish Salim Al-Hasani

Republic of Korea Mr. Kyunghee Choi Samoa Mr. William J. Cable

Syrian Arab Republic Mr. Mohammed Jamal Hajjar Thailand Ms. Supranee Impithuksa

### **Eastern Europe**

Hungary Mr. Tamás Kömíves Slovenia Ms. Karmen Krajnc Ukraine Mr. Yuriy Illich Kundiev

## **Latin America and the Caribbean**

Argentina Ms. Norma Ethel Sbarbati Nudelman

Brazil Mr. Cesar Koppe Grisolia Ecuador Ms. Mercedes Bolaños Jamaica Ms. Hyacinth Chin Sue

Uruguay Ms. Ana Laura Chouhy Gonella

### Western Europe and other States

Australia Mr. Angelo Anthony Valois Canada Mr. Lars Juergensen Finland Mr. Magnus Nyström France Mr. Mario Nichelatti
Italy Mr. Leonello Attias
Netherlands Mr. Klaus Berend
Switzerland Ms. Bettina Hitzfeld

- 2. *Recalls* the duration and terms of service of the members of the Chemical Review Committee, as provided for in paragraph 4 of its decision RC-1/6;
- 3. *Decides* to elect Ms. Bettina Hitzfeld as the Chair of the Chemical Review Committee, bearing in mind the duration of her term;
- 4. *Notes* that Gabon, which had been identified by the Conference of the Parties in its decision RC-1/6 to designate a member to the Chemical Review Committee, had not submitted the designation of an expert to the secretariat by the date of the second meeting of the Conference of the Parties, and, given this situation, the group of African countries decided that the Democratic Republic of the Congo would replace Gabon to designate an expert to serve as a member of the Chemical Review Committee;
- 5. *Decides* that the Democratic Republic of Congo shall be entitled, in place of Gabon, to designate an expert to serve as a member of the Chemical Review Committee;
- 6. Requests the Government of the Democratic Republic of Congo to designate an expert to serve on the Committee on an interim basis for the same term as would have been served by the expert that was to be designated by Gabon, pending formal confirmation of appointment of the expert by the Conference of the Parties at its third meeting, and, for this purpose, to provide through the secretariat the name and relevant qualifications of the expert to the Parties by 1 December 2005.